Latest News

Sustainable electricity think-tank established

An international Working Group of electricity energy experts was announced last week at the conclusion of the Inaugural Symposium on Electrical Energy Evolution in China and Australia, in Palm Cove, Queensland.

Symposium chair, CSIRO scientist Dr Geoff James, said the decision to form the Working Group was a major outcome of the three-day specialist conference on sustainable electricity.

“This think-tank of 22 leading academic and industry specialists from China and Australia will work together to develop better ways to utilise and distribute electricity,” Dr James said.

“Recognising the strong trade links and shared energy challenges which face our two nations, the Working Group will draw on the expertise of both countries to continue the work begun at this forum towards achieving sustainable electricity supply.”

The Working Party membership is drawn from Australian industry and key Australian and Chinese universities, including:

University of Queensland

RMIT University

University of New South Wales

Curtin University

Tsinghua University

Hong Kong Polytechnic University

State Power Economic Research Institute of China

University of Hong Kong

The Symposium was sponsored by CSIRO, the Energy Transformed National Research Flagship, Energex, CRA International, the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage, and the Arts, Evolve Energy, and SP AusNet.

Send this to a friend