Latest News

Revealed: Winners of the 2010 PACE Zenith Awards

There was a buzz around the room and it was definitely a night to remember. PACE magazine’s 7th Zenith Awards function at Melbourne’s RACV Club on June 17 attracted grizzled industry veterans and eager young guns.

They came from far and wide to participate in, and celebrate, the achievements put forward by many of the brightest in the process control and automation industries in Australia and New Zealand.

Fifty high quality finalist projects battled it out for top honours, making the task of our four judges considerably challenging. We especially acknowledge the time and effort put in by our judges Ian Swift, Don Wilkey, Mike Sondalini and Michael O’Connor.

The Zenith Awards would not be going from strength to strength, if it were not for our extremely supportive sponsors: Siemens, Schneider Electric, Rockwell Automation, Pilz Safe Automation, ifm efector, Endress+Hauser, and AMS Instrumentation & Calibration.

AUTOMOTIVE & MANUFACTURING: Sponsored by ifm efector

  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: BJH Controls Pty Ltd for Mixing Room Optimisation Project
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Hilustre Coatings Pty Ltd for Robotic Joinery Painting System
  • WINNER: CPE Systems for Automated Testing of Smart SCADA Multipoint Radios

FOOD & BEVERAGE: Sponsored by Siemens

  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Sanitarium Health Food Company and Robotic Automation P/L for Robotic Packing & Distribution Centre, Cooranbong
  • WINNER: SAGE Automation for Fire Recovery Project – Mildura Fruit Juices Australia


  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Sentient Computing and Torq Software for MVX 3D Visualisation
  • WINNER: AC Mobility for Atigra Mid-Wheel Drive Power Wheelchair

MINING, MINERALS and EXPLORATION: Sponsored by Schneider Electric

  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Rio Tinto Iron Ore for Further Fines Processing Plant Upgrade
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Enerpac World-first Strand Lift of Sino Iron Ore Mills
  • WINNER: Sigma NSW Pty Ltd for BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance Gregory Mine CHPP Control System Upgrade Project


  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Vector Gas for Mokau Compressor Station – control systems upgrade
  • WINNER: Parasyn Controls Pty Ltd for Next Gen Wellhead Efficiency ESG Narrabri Gas Field SCADA System

TRANSPORT, POWER and INFRASTRUCTURE: Sponsored by Rockwell Automation

  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Patrick Stevedores and CrispTech for AutoStrad Terminal Remote Control Operator Station
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Aurecon Hatch for Abbot Point Coal Terminal – X25 Expansion
  • WINNER: SAGE Automation for Port River Expressway

WATER & WASTEWATER: Sponsored by Endress+Hauser

  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Endress+Hauser Australia for Sydney Desalination Plant
  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: UGL Infrastructure for Reliability For The Future – North Head STP – Process and Reliability/Renewals (PARR) Control System Upgrade
  • WINNER: UGL Infrastructure for Protecting the Barrier Reef – The Cairns Cleaner Seas Alliance Project

POWER and ENERGY MANAGEMENT: Sponsored by Rockwell Automation

  • HIGHLY COMMENDED: Yokogawa Australia Pty Ltd and Eraring Energy for Eraring Power Station Turbine Control and Protection Systems
  • WINNER: Aurecon for Huntly Power Station Control System Upgrade


  • WINNER: Sigma NSW Pty Ltd for BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance Gregory Mine CHPP Control System Upgrade Project

Congratulations to all our winners. A big thank you to all those who attended and helped make the event a success. For those unable to attend or submit an entry, remember to get in early next year – check PACE magazine and the web site for details.

Send this to a friend