Latest News

Finalists announced for WA Innovator of the Year

Eight finalists have been announced for the the 2019 Western Australian Innovator of the Year program, which helps small to medium enterprises to develop their businesses and expand to create WA jobs.

The program started in 2006 under the Carpenter Labor Government to showcase innovative and entrepreneurial individuals and businesses at the emerging or growth phase of development. Award winners must demonstrate an economic, social or environmental benefit for the State.

This year, Rio Tinto is the program’s primary sponsor. There are eight finalists across the WA Innovator of the Year’s Rio Tinto Emerging Innovation category and the Rio Tinto Growth category. These finalists are in the running to be crowned the WA Innovator of the Year – Overall Winner.

In addition, there are 16 finalists for the program’s Platinum Awards. This year, the program has four Platinum Award sponsors – Woodside, South32, DXC Technology and Business News.

“These awards run in collaboration with industry to promote innovative Western Australians and ensure they grow and develop their ideas locally to create WA jobs and boost the economy,” state ICT and innovation minister Dave Kelly said.

“This year’s finalists are a fitting testament to the diversity and strength of ideas in our State spanning multiple sectors and demonstrating key benefits for our State.

“This program has proven to help WA businesses expand to create WA jobs. Last year’s Innovator of the Year, Udrew, has gone from one employee to eight employees in just seven months, and it is expected to hire more staff in the coming months.”

The finalists and semi-finalists will now embark on commercialisation training which includes pitch presentation training; mentoring; digital and social media strategy as well as a legal health check. The finalists will also receive professional photography and video packages of their innovation to help market their innovation.

Winners will share in a prize pool of $150,000 and be announced at the program’s awards ceremony on November 6, 2019.

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend