Latest News

Clean Energy Finance Corporation announces Board changes


The Clean Energy Finance Corporation (CEFC) chair, Steven Skala, has been reappointed for a further five-year term commencing on 7 August. David Jones and Matt Howell have also been appointed as new members of the Board. 

Jones and Howell fill the vacancies created by the departure of Laura Reed and Philip Coffey. Jones’ five-year term will begin on 8 April, while Howell’s will start on 14 May. 

Jones is an executive director of VGI Partners, a global fund manager, and has more than thirty years’ experience in investment markets, the majority as a general partner in private equity firms, and prior to that in general management and management consulting. In 2021, he was made a member of the Order of Australia for significant service to the museums and galleries sector, as well as to the community. 

Howell is the outgoing CEO of Tomago Aluminium, experienced in base and precious metals smelting, 24/7 capital intensive operations, and energy intensive manufacturing. He has led the company’s transformation into the largest and most efficient aluminium smelter in the Asia Pacific region. 

The federal government has thanked Reed and Coffey for their significant service as CEFC Board members since 2017 and 2018, respectively. 

During their time on the Board, and under the leadership of Skala, the CEFC has surpassed $10 billion in investment commitments and commenced a realignment with the objectives of Australia’s Technology Investment Roadmap. 

Leave a Reply

Send this to a friend