Latest News

ATSE honours new Fellow

Michael Taylor AO FTSE, Secretary of the Department of Transport and Regional Services, Canberra since 2004, has been elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE).

He was previously the Secretary of the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (2000-2004) and prior to that, the Secretary for various Victorian Government Departments: the Department of Natural Resources and Environment (1996-2000), the Department of Agriculture, Energy and Minerals (1995-1996) and the Department of Agriculture (1992-1995).

The President of the Academy, Professor Robin Batterham AO FREng FAA FTSE, announced that Mr Taylor had been elected by the ATSE Council for his “leadership in international, Commonwealth and State policies and legislation, advising Governments and Ministerial Councils on a wide range of agricultural, food, forestry, fisheries, energy, minerals, water, environmental and sustainable natural resource management issues. Particularly significant were improved quarantine policy arrangements to increase Australia’s protection from pests and diseases, the National Food Industry Strategy, the implementation of the National Action Plan for Salinity and Water Quality and national water reform.”

Mr Taylor is a member of the Australian Public Service Management Advisory Committee (APS-MAC) and chaired the APS-MAC Senior Executive Service Performance Management Sub-Committee. He was President of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (ACT), and is a Fellow of both the Institute of Public Administration of Australia (Victoria) and the Australian Institute of Management, and a member of the CEO Circle.

Send this to a friend